Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

I Fried My Garmin, and Other Stories From the Week

Sometimes when I unplug my Garmin Forerunner from the computer after logging my run, it gives me a rude message about always ejecting something “properly,” along with a promise to “attempt to repair the damage” caused by my negligence the next time I plug it in. Ironic, considering the “proper” way to eject it is apparently to find it in the Finder menu and select eject, and my Garmin NEVER shows up in the Finder menu.

Anyway, after my run on Thursday, my online training log wasn’t acknowledging my Garmin, so I unplugged and plugged it back in a couple times, hoping to spark a glimmer of recognition. I got no mean messages from my computer about ejecting it improperly, but on the third attempt the watch face went blank, and hasn’t spoken to me since. Oops. I guess I’m back to estimating my run distances with online mapping software until I get this figured out.

In other training news, the family and I went camping out at Cove Palisades State Park last weekend, and I brought my wetsuit along for a practice swim in Lake Billy Chinook. Brrr!!! The water felt just as cold as Blue Lake back in June when I nearly bailed out in panic. It took me about 10 minutes just to be able to put my face in the water, and I swam for about 20 minutes before my arms felt too frozen to carry on. I’m seriously thinking I might need a wetsuit with sleeves if I can’t find some warmer waters to swim in.

No running on the camping trip…I was too busy eating s’mores. We did some hiking, at 4-year-old pace, and managed to avoid rattlesnakes while seeing funny blue-tailed lizards and cute bunnies. The kiddo made it his goal to climb every boulder he could find, alongside the other kids who took the trip with us.

Seriously, this is totally safe, I promise.

Now we’re back, and fall is definitely in the air. I’m torn between relief that I don’t have to exercise in the heat, and dread that soon I’ll be bundling up in gloves, polar fleece, and ear warmers when I head out for a run. It’s also the official end to the triathlon season, as the Portland Tri is being held this morning. I toyed with the idea of signing up for the sprint, then decided I really wasn’t ready yet and didn’t need the stress. It was the right decision, but it still leaves me a little disappointed that the closest thing to a tri I did this year was that aqua-bike back in June. But the running is getting easier every day, so I’ll just concentrate on getting stronger and staying injury-free over the winter. With any luck, come next summer I’ll be back in the game!

All together in front of Lake Billy Chinook

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I Fried My Garmin, and Other Stories From the Week

  1. Very pretty lake! I wonder if you re register your Garmin if that would work…I have never gotten that message? I have an ANT stick that connects mine to the computer. Hope it all works out…Chilly runs in the morning, 40’s!! I love it!!

Leave a Reply

