Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

Back in the Saddle…Sort Of.

Wow, I better dust off this blog; it’s been sitting on the shelf for a while. I’d like to say that’s because my foot is all healed and I’m back to training 6 days a week, but that’s definitely not true. In fact, my foot feels fairly awful, my podiatrist keeps extending my medical leave from work, and I’m scheduled for a bone scan this Thursday. I am, however, out of my boot and into my running shoes with new custom orthotics. I’ve also been doing short rides on my bike on the stationary trainer, and though I’m having some numbness down my left leg and a serious case of saddle soreness, my foot doesn’t seem to be any worse for it.

I’m coming to terms with the fact that my Olympic-distance triathlon isn’t going to happen this year. Frankly, I’ll be lucky to eke out a sprint or two. But I know my foot will heal eventually, and I’m reminding myself that I’ve got plenty of chances left.

I did get a healthy dose of finish-line envy this weekend, as I shuttled my husband and his buddy Rick back from the Oregon coast after they finished the 80-mile leg of Reach the Beach, a cycle tour going from Portland, over the coast range, and ending in Pacific City. Milling around the finish area with my son, watching the riders cruise in, grabbing bagel samples from sponsor booths, and listening to annoying pop music blaring way to loud, all combined to give me a healthy dose of nostalgia for my races last year. My envy didn’t get in the way of my pride in my husband’s accomplishment, though. This guy works 60+ hours a week, sometimes for 10-12 days in a row, and still managed to fit in enough training to finish this ride with a smile on his face!

My husband (on the right) and his buddy Rick, sharing the iconic “We Reached the Beach” victory pose.

Before the guys finished the ride, my son and I got to spend some quality time on the beach, where I enjoyed the (rare) beautiful spring weather, and he did what little boys do best: dig in the sand, splash in the water, and trash a perfectly good pair of jeans.

A lovely day, all things considered.

Next week will be the true test of my ability to withstand race-envy, as I’m scheduled to volunteer at a 10K on Memorial Day. On one hand, it seems like a good way to stay involved with the running world even while I’m sidelined by injury. On the other hand, I’m a little afraid that it might drive me crazy to see so many people doing something I just can’t do yet! We’ll see how it goes, I guess. In the meantime, I’ll keep slogging away on the bike with the knowledge that someday soon I’ll be running down the road again, probably wishing I was home on the couch instead!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle…Sort Of.

  1. ColeneLord on said:

    I bowed out of my race this Sunday and I’ve been devastated about it. But you are right… we WILL heal. And we WILL have many chances to continue to do the things we love. 🙂

    • Good job making a tough choice. It’s just so hard to be patient sometimes, but rushing back into it won’t help our longevity as runners at all!

      • ColeneLord on said:

        Agreed. Too bad we can’t sit around on the couch together eating bon bons and talking about our dumb foot bones. 😉

  2. Seems like everytime I get injured I get depressed and think I will never run or ride again…not true… I hope that your foot gets better soon. You will return!!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Patience is definitely a virtue I lack! In fact, I’d probably be healing faster if I could manage to stay off my feet totally, but since I’m not running, there’s always something else that needs to be done: housework, gardening, shopping…Taking it easy is really hard!

  3. I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award. I hope that you’ll accept! Check it out at http://strongbrokentri.com/2012/05/30/the-liebster-blog-award/. And thanks for your continued support of my blog. We’re all in this together!

Leave a Reply

