Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

A Few Steps in the Right Direction

Without a boot, that is! Last week my podiatrist cleared me to start walking around “for an hour or two” without my orthopedic boot. It felt so great that I stretched it out to two hours the first day, three the second day, all of yesterday afternoon…I was so giddy with excitement I almost convinced myself a run around the block would be okay! Luckily my better judgment took over.

I don’t think I’m going to be able to resist putting my bike on the stationary trainer and riding for a half-hour or so this afternoon…I hope I won’t pay for it later, but the doctor did say biking shouldn’t cause too much of a problem. I’ve also been okayed to start kicking in the pool again, so I better stop using my injury as an excuse not to increase my yardage past one mile! You would think that being unable to do two of your usual forms of exercise would make you want to work extra hard on the third form, but in my case, it’s just made me lazy.

While I’m looking forward to getting back on the horse training-wise, some other things are going to suffer when I have less time devoted to them…Namely, my knitting, which has recently produced these two projects, and an accusation of being an “overachiever” by my knitting group:

Oh, well, I’m willing to sacrifice a little knitting time in the hopes I might still fit in a tri or two this summer!

By the way, since I know I’m not going to be up to running a race in the next month or so, I’m volunteering at a 10K for my local running club on Memorial Day. The race director suggested I could make some signs for my area of the course if “I’m into that kind of thing.” Any suggestions for inspiring and/or funny signs for a Masters’ 10K? Any of you runners/triathletes have a favorite sign you’ve seen in any of your races? Any and all suggestions welcome!

Hope to blog more happy progress soon!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A Few Steps in the Right Direction

  1. My favorite sign to date said: “Remember, You Paid For This!!” But it was a marathon, and I saw it around mile 18, I’m not sure it would have the same effect at a 10K. But possibly! 🙂

    Glad to hear your boot is off and you’re starting to get back to training. Just in time for lovely summer weather!

Leave a Reply

