Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

And So It Goes On…

Today marks my 34th day in this prison, and the judge has just decreed that I shall spend at least two more weeks contained in its dreary confines.

All hope seems lost, and it is with bitter nostalgia that I bear witness to the hordes of joggers and cyclists who pass by, oblivious to my envy. Oh, they take their freedom so lightly, just as I did before this terrible tragedy befell me…

Now that the days grow longer and the sun grows brighter (or, at least, the rain grows slightly warmer,) how I long to break free from my velcro-and-plastic shackles, don my sweat-stained Lycra, and run for miles down the endless road. (Or maybe just to the end of the block and back.) Instead, I sit inside with this cold, unforgiving keyboard as my only companion. At least it provides some distraction from my miserable reality…

But wait, the Small One…He demands my attention, and threatens to take away my silver friend, so that he might play his “Computer Game…” No! Whatever shall I do now??? Well, there’s always knitting needles and an endless supply of yarn to pass the time with, so all is not lost…

My imprisonment continues...

*I promise that one of these days I’ll stop complaining about my injury. Today’s just not that day.

Image credit: footankle.com

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

