Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

Minimalists, Meet a Maximalist

While I was in Maui last month, a friendly stranger asked me about the orthopedic boot on my foot, so I told him about the half-marathon training and associated stress fracture. He listened to my story, then patted me on the shoulder, smiled paternally, and advised, “When you’re healed up, go and get yourself some good minimalist shoes and start running in those. You’ll never get injured again.” He was obviously on the bandwagon:

My favorite part of this video, and the concept of minimalist shoes in general, is how much money you can spend on shoes to run “barefoot!”

Just as well that my well-meaning friend in Maui doesn’t know I have an appointment with my podiatrist next week to fit my brand-new custom orthotics.

By the way, before you minimalist runners get on my case, I think barefoot running is a great idea…for some people. I also think sturdy shoes and orthotics can be a good idea for overpronators with freakishly flat feet like me. Whatever keeps you running, right?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

