Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

Naughty or Nice? This Jury’s Still Out.

I’m trying to decide if the kiddo deserves a present or a lump of coal this year, and my opinion’s changing about every 10 minutes. Here’s what he’s done, naughty and nice, to make me so confused:

Naughty: Approximately every two nights, he screams like he’s being murdered when it’s time for bed; I think it’s only a matter of days until a neighbor calls child protective services to check up on us.
Nice: We had so much fun making snowy owls out of pine cones and cotton balls:

Naughty: Sometimes he crosses his arms over his chest, sticks out his lower lip, and says “I’m not talking!” when the cashier at the grocery store says hi to him.
Nice: He says “I love you, Mommy” for no reason.
Naughty: He tells me I’m not his friend anymore and I need to leave the house RIGHT NOW!!! (Oh, how I wish I could sometimes…)
Nice: He pets the cat to see if he can make it purr.
Naughty: He pulls the cat’s tail because “he was watching me get dressed.”
Nice: He plays a board game with Daddy and “hopes Daddy wins.”
Naughty: He throws a tantrum when Daddy wins.
Nice: He’s THRILLED to see Gramma and Grampa when they come to visit.
Naughty: He’s less than thrilled (in fact, quite grumpy) when he realizes Gramma and Grampa are here to babysit so Mommy and Daddy can go on a date.

There's my cranky little elf!


So Santa has some tough decisions to make regarding my little guy…I have a feeling he won’t get a lump of coal, but he’s probably also not going to get the giant remote-controlled robot that he asked for either! Whether he’s naughty or nice, though, I’m sure we will have a fabulous Christmas, and we hope you do too!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Naughty or Nice? This Jury’s Still Out.

  1. I kinda like the thought presented in the movie Fred Claus with Vince Vaughn, there are no naughty kids….just misunderstood. So, he is not really naughty, you need to see his point of view.

Leave a Reply

