Mommy Wants a Timeout

In which I contemplate absurd moments in parenthood, occasionally attempt to refer to myself as a “triathlete” while keeping a straight face, and maybe post some random pictures of stuff I’m knitting

Monsoon Running

Oh, nothing, just finished running 8 miles, whatever, no big deal. Except…

1. That’s the furthest I’ve ever run. Ever.
2. According to Weather Underground, there is currently an area flood advisory, wind advisory, and Special Weather Statement regarding heavy rains and urban flooding in effect.
3. Within 10 minutes of leaving my house, my clothes were soaked through, and weighed at least quadruple their dry weight.

Coming back on the trail through the park, just over a mile from home, I found that the creek had overflowed the wooden bridge. Undeterred, I climbed up on the 4×4 guardrail and walked across like a gymnast on a balance beam, only to find that a raging torrent had swallowed up the trail on the other side. Backtracking, I cut through the park to a nearby neighborhood and stepped into an ankle-deep mud puddle. Great feeling…I got to listen to my left shoe squelch all the way home.

I felt a little crazy running in the wild weather (at first I was sort of giddy-crazy, like a kid on a snow day, then later, more of a “what-the-hell-was-I-thinking” crazy) but I wasn’t the craziest person out there. Running through the country club I saw two guys golfing. No kidding…golfing! On a day like today! I was out there because I want to run a half-marathon in a few months. What was these guys’ excuse?

Oh, and as to the half-marathon. I’m thinking about the Heartbreaker Half in downtown Portland, February 19th. I’m a little worried, because I’m not sure what the Heartbreaker is supposed to be…Me, cuz I’m so sexy in my winter running gear? (Cap with brim, check…Headband to cover ears, worn over cap with brim, check…Batman-like belt with cell phone, keys, water bottle, iPod, gloves, check…Who could resist?) Or maybe the heartbreaker is the hill up Naito to Barbur Blvd. and Terwilliger? I guess I’ll find out. In any case, today’s monsoon run makes me feel prepared for whatever inclement weather February might send my way.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Monsoon Running

  1. Sounds like you rocked those 8 miles and under such crappy conditions too! Great job!

  2. Thanks! I think I slogged more than I rocked, but the miles are logged now, so I’m happy! 13.1 is seeming a little more doable every day!

  3. ColeneLord on said:

    You know you’re a runner when… you are giddy to run in the pouring rain with drenched clothing and looking like a drowned cat. You are a runner. 🙂

    • We might need to start a “You know you’re a runner when…” list. Like, when you categorize weather as “treadmill” or “outdoor” weather. (Though you can probably tell I avoid the treadmill at all costs!)

Leave a Reply

